DSI Top
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ford 460 Help

Ford 460 Help

Hey guys/gals!

I am new at Jet boats and still learning. Thanks in advance for any help. Conversely if anyone in my area of central NJ needs help PM me. I love helping and I learn hands on.

I am putting together a Ford 460 on my '77 Cee Bee and the last owner gave me all of the motor mounts and such. The rear mount is a Glenwood. On the rear of that it gives part numbers for the flywheel and the starter. I bought those items. Problem is, when I go to put together the flexplate and the mount, it appears the flexplate is too big.

I should mention that the part number Glenwood gives is for a "flywheel" (C6AZ6375B) but when looking up part number, I was directed to a flexplate. Got that from Rock Auto.

I am assuming the flexplate or flywheel would be the same size and that it should fit inside the indent of the rear mount.

I searched the issue on Google but seems like I am the only one porking this up so I don't know what I did wrong.

Also the 1310 PTO with the H-Joint and Crankshaft holes don't line up. I tried calling Glenwood but they never pick up. I can take pics soon.

Re: Ford 460 Help

here is a good read about the 460 starters. as long as it is NOT a top mount starter.
    http://www.460ford.com/forum/37-engi...ter-460-a.html . there should be a part number on the PTO.
    It's Impossible to Lose Your Footing, If Your On Your Knees"

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	460 Setup Rear Mount.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	2.10 MB 
ID:	19703Click image for larger version. 

Name:	460 Rear Mount setup 2.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	2.81 MB 
ID:	19704

It appears these line up, but not to the existing crank. Which was a Fuel Injected, so I don't know if that would be different. The PTO is a 1250. Starter doesn't line up either. Hits the Flexplate. Flexplate is 15 1/2 end to end. Looked that up, same as Flywheel. I'm very confused. Thank you for the starter link, that was good reading.