PDA

View Full Version : Impeller Reprofile Test

78_Tahiti
07-05-2012, 11:01 AM
Since I'm not very good at sitting still for very long. I decided to experiment with an idea I had. I took an old Panther Impeller that had a few nasty nicks in it, and reshaped the intake side of the vanes, to make them a little more agressive! Heres some pics.

I increased the fin angle a 1/16", to give it a little bigger initial bite in the water.

here's the hole it resides in.

The clearance to the bronze sleeve is .010".

Now maybe a little test at the river tomorrow to see what happens!

T8er S.
07-05-2012, 04:16 PM
Like a boss!:rooster:

78_Tahiti
07-06-2012, 11:10 PM
Wow! So far, I'm very pleased with the results! Took it out to the Sacramento river today for a couple of hours. GPS says 58mph at 4800 Rpm. My planing RPM is also lower. I can cruise at 23mph at 2800rpm. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYdPacK4Kqg&feature=youtu.be

"THE ADVOCATE"
07-07-2012, 08:26 AM
Nice vid of the "split tail" as well!

freudian Slip
07-07-2012, 08:33 AM
Awesome!

roblock
07-11-2012, 08:50 PM
Interesting... care to clarify exactly what you did there?

78_Tahiti
07-12-2012, 01:40 AM
notice the angle of the blades on the impeller. The left is stock, the right side, the blades are now about 1/4" longer. This causes a bigger byte on the water in the pump!

roblock
07-12-2012, 05:34 AM
Ah, so you ground down the blade faces nearing the shaft? Or did you build up the outside?

78_Tahiti
07-12-2012, 02:30 PM
I cut a pie shaped piece out of each leading edge. This added the angle.

roblock
07-13-2012, 05:45 PM
Got it... have to rebalance the impeller afterward?

So you now get the same basic speed with lower rpms?

78_Tahiti
07-13-2012, 09:21 PM
Got it... have to rebalance the impeller afterward?

So you now get the same basic speed with lower rpms?