PDA

View Full Version : Mississippi Jetboat Newbie checking in!

joshua99ta
07-28-2015, 08:40 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to the jet boat world. My dad has a 1976 Mantra that he has agreed to give to me if I'll get it running. We pulled the 468BBC out of the boat about 15-16 years ago to put in my 68 Camaro when I started driving. The boat had been sitting in the shop for several years then. My mom hated it b/c it was loud. I do have some fuzzy memories of the boat as a child, but they were when I was 5-8 years old.

I currently don't have pics, as I work in the gulf of mexico for an oil company. I do plan on posting pics and more info on the boat.

I'm gunna pull the old 468 out of the corner and tear it down, it ended up dropping oil pressure in the Camaro after about a year of driving the car, I figure its probably a rod bearing. In a way I hope the block is salvageable and I can use it. IF not I'll probably end up going to a 540. I've always wanted to do a blown big block in a jet boat so I'm going to build myself one. Depending on the situation with the block I'll figure out which route I wanna do. Either way I'll be getting a callies crank and ultra billet rods and probably diamond pistons and probably be topped with some brodix BB2X heads(unless my lead on a DEAL on a set of big dukes comes thru). It'll definitely be a roller, probably a hydraulic but a solid is a possibility as I prefer a solid roller. I'm not sure on which blower yet, it'll be between BDS, Littlefield or Mooneyham with one of blower spacer intercooler setups.

This will be my first blower setup, I've had a host of dealing with nitrous setups ranging from daily drivers to a buddy's 748" fulton powered stock suspension outlaw drag radial mustang.